Making Black Pine Needles Smaller?

LegitPygmy

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
I've always wanted to start a pine bonsai. Either black, white, or red pine to be specific. This shouldn't be a problem, but every time I go to my local nursery they have small black pine saplings that look fine, but their needles are HUGE! Their needles are sometimes upwards of 4 inches. I have no experience with pines, but I know that you can shrink the needles to make a better bonsai. The only problem is...I have no idea how to shrink the needles. Help. Please. Thanks!

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
This is not something that can just be explained in a post. Reducing the size of needles on Japanese black pines ana take years.. not just 2-3 years either. You need to understand how pines work before you can do this. Pines are a very long process. Also, in regards to the pines at your local nursery. Almost all are not good for bonsai. However, if there was one, it would probably take about 5-10 years to get the tree to start looking like a nice bonsai.

Not trying to discourage you. Just giving you an honest answer. If you are new to bosnai, you should start from the begining. Learn the 5 styles of bonsai, then practice just keeping one tree alive. The 5 styles of bonsai are the aesthetic principles that bonsai is built on.

Rob

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
I agree with everything Rob said, but would like to add that needle reduction is implemented only after the material has reached a particular level of refinement. Practicing needle reducing techniques on undeveloped material will only weaken them and stall any forward progress in development. Good luck.

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A