Making trees from branches?

eko

Seedling
Reaction score
Greetings Senseis,

I am happy to be here.

I've been picking up little trimmings for the past six months or so and just planting them in extra-moist peat-moss kind of soil. No less than 1mm in diameter and no more than 3mm. They're sprouting fine.

Theoretically, can I saw off a legit branch (approx. ~5cm diameter) and also dunk it in wet soil and hope for the best with patience?

Cheers to all and thanks!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Glad to have you!

Better to Airlayer!

Sorce

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Greetings Senseis,

I am happy to be here.

I've been picking up little trimmings for the past six months or so and just planting them in extra-moist peat-moss kind of soil. No less than 1mm in diameter and no more than 3mm. They're sprouting fine.

Theoretically, can I saw off a legit branch (approx. ~5cm diameter) and also dunk it in wet soil and hope for the best with patience?

For the most part, it doesn't work like that for branches and larger pieces of trees. Air layering is a gradual removal of a branch that allows the branch to use the resources of its parent tree to create a new set of roots at the base of the branch. Without those roots, MOST branches die if simply stuck into soil.

A few tree species (very few) can root without air layering. Weeping willow (Salix Babylonica) can take root by sticking a sawed off branch into WET soil or by placing the end in a bucket of water. Bald Cypress can do the same (although not nearly as successfully).

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Greetings Senseis,

I am happy to be here.

Hi Eko! Welcome!

What species are you working with? The answer to your question really depends upon the species.

Reactions: eko

eko

Seedling
Reaction score
Many great replies. Thank you all!