Maple newbie

jade

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Hello.

Im very new to maples and Bonsai in general. I just up-potted these nursery maples ( Amur(1), & Trident (2)) into larger containers without disturbing the rootball too much in hopes avoid any shock, they were just beginning to get root bound w/ trunks around 1".

I thought one had interesting movement and the other some base taper and neat bark starting.

I would like these to look stout and bushy rather then tall and lengthy as the end result. Im not set on having the thickest trunks in the world here, im ready to start the branching.

Would it be appropriate to trim back the 2 tall branches on the amur and lower some of the taller branches on the trident to start to create a more ramified canopy? If so, and where and when would you recommend to cut? Also, If I was inclined, when is the appropriate time to start air layering the 2 tops off the amur?

They just began leafing out and im in 9b.

Thanks for reading and hope your willing to share your thoughts

J

20210223_173957.jpg20210223_173904.jpg

Last edited:

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Myself I would let these grow out without pruning for a couple years. Keep in mind once you start pruning the trunk, the increase in diameter will slow dramatically. I would let these grow a couple years just to increase the caliper of the trunk.

However, if you are happy with the diameter of the trunks. You can prune. I would decide what final height I would like for the "finished tree". Then cut the trunks back to 1/3 the desired final height. For example, if you want finished trees at 18 inches tall cut down to 6 inches. If you want a final height of 12 inches cut down to 4 inches tall.

Generalized plan for a tree, first third of height is trunk. Second third is the primary branching, final third of height is the twigs and leaves.