Maple status and leaf problems

Fred1991

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi all! I’m quite green to bonsai and to the forum but super excited to be part of the community! I’ve got a maple that I’ve been working on for about 4 months. It definitely ain’t the best looking tree but I’m having lots of fun learning from it. First picture is how it looked when I got it second pictures is how it looks now after the work I’ve done on it so far. I’ve been working toward building a better taper and I’m also gonna start working on the nebari growing some new surface roots. I’ve been considering air layering the tree to get the lowest branch closer to soil too but haven’t made the decision to actually do this just yet or wether I should use it as a learning tree. Lastly I seem to have a problem with the leaves. They never seem to look very healthy and I can’t tell why. But maybe I’m being overprotective? Any notes, thoughts and other sort of help is super appreciated thanks in advance 🙏

Fred

Attachments

• D1EE84B6-C4A9-4955-AA3D-D07973CF81B0.jpeg
    D1EE84B6-C4A9-4955-AA3D-D07973CF81B0.jpeg
    230 KB · Views: 50
  • IMG_0435.jpg
    IMG_0435.jpg
    236 KB · Views: 51
  • IMG_5186.JPG
    IMG_5186.JPG
    160.8 KB · Views: 52

Fred1991

Yamadori
Reaction score