Maples for orange spring color

ysrgrathe

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Orange is a relatively unusual color. I've long loved A.p. 'Akane' for its really unique orange-y tones in the spring. Unfortunately, it is not a very vigorous grower: it can easily get scorched in full sun, and regardless of care I (and it seems others on the web) struggle to keep the leaves nice through summer even with shading.

IMG_20190309_110323.jpg

Last year I discovered A.p. 'Coral magic', apparently a dwarf similar to sango kaku. It's not quite the same but it has a very special color as well -- and the good news, this one is vigorous. It can easily take full sun with good health (although if you want nice looking leaves in fall, it might take a bit of extra care).

IMG_20190309_110312.jpg

Finally A.p. 'Orange Dream'. Oddly, the least orange! It does have a color that contrasts nicely with maples that are more green or yellow, but it doesn't exactly shout "orange." This is my first year with this one, though, so I would be interested to see other's thoughts on it.

IMG_20190309_110454.jpg

Brent

Mame
Reaction score
Try 'Katsura'. Nice orange and red tones to the new foliage, turns green in summer. It does burn in direct hot sun here, but we have very hot dry summer weather, maybe similar to yours if you are inland. 'Katsura' is a vigorous, but semi dwarf tree. We have cutting grown ones, they are great sellers. One of our most popular.

Brent
EvergreenGardenworks.com

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I have an Orange Dream landscape specimen and several air layers from it. It looks very orange from a distance, more so than up close. Regardless, mine appears 'orangier' than yours. Here is one last year

img_20180407_130233882-jpg.186359

And in 2015
odspringfoliage-jpg.69249

My attempts to make fall color resulted in a bit more red than orange this past fall.
IMG_20181024_115842479.jpg