Maximizing spring & summer growth (P. afra)

Castanea

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hey bonsai nuts,

I could use your input regarding growth for my little portulacaria afra.

Assuming I left the plant in the pictured pot – outside - with regular water/fertilization, how much stem thickness do you suppose I could gain in a grow season? I’ve heard the dwarf jade can thicken rather quickly in good weather conditions, but not sure how much a small pot would inhibit that growth.

Also, I’m thinking about slapping together a cheap grow box from cedar wood to really give it room to grow during the warm months. Any size recommendations? I’m new at this and don’t know what is too big/small for the purpose of beefing up this little plant.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20160120_174259.jpg
    20160120_174259.jpg
    148.3 KB · Views: 61
  • Snapchat-272809780798504516.jpg
    Snapchat-272809780798504516.jpg
    151.6 KB · Views: 47
  • Snapchat-4931208099176210906.jpg
    Snapchat-4931208099176210906.jpg
    178.1 KB · Views: 49

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Wish I had more of the advice you're looking for....
I like that little one you have there.
I also have a small one in a small pot. I haven't had it long enough to know much about its habits, but I would imagine that a grow box or colander would help speed up the process, of thickening up.

lieuz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
@Castanea Hi there, neat little jade you got there. That link is very informational @Geo, thank you! When wiring these succulents, I feel like I'm playing Jenga, I hold my breath with each bend. This is my jade after a year of growth, growing season outside, winter inside.
10598179_974166565978678_1479513698_n.jpg

Castanea

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a