me, myself & my (scarce) bonsai experience

Reaction score
hello everyone! my name is Filippo and i am quite new to bonsai, and even newer to this forum, so i’m going to introduce (briefly) myself! i am a student in my last year of university in management, i love sports (basketball in particular) and i am passionate of bonsai, as i consider them to be incredible, but i can’t say that my passion goes along with deep knowledge of the matter.

so here’s why i am writing to you: for christmas 2012 my girlfriend, knowing my passion for bonsai, decided to buy me one so that i could finally prove myself with it. she bought me this ficus microcarpa:

http://imageshack.com/a/img40/3200/wy94.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img571/9832/5zrp.jpg
http://imageshack.com/a/img834/9178/l51p.jpg

which i am sure is not the rarest of the specimens (on the contrary, from what i saw on the internet) but that i loved instantly. at first, given my super-limited knowledge of bonsai, and given that everyone told me “you gotta be really careful or it’s going to die!!”, i decided to focus just on the survival of the plant. and indeed after some months, the bonsai was suffering, mostly due to the placement in my old apartment. when i moved to my actual place, lot brighter than where i was living before, the bonsai started recover, and also a new branch (that you can see in the picture) grew. now some time has passed and the plant survived optimally up to now, so i decided to start to give it my “signature”.