Mid Atlantic Soil Mix Suggestions

Tenchuu

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Newbie here. I got interested in Bonsai last year, picked up a few conifers from local nursuries, and they have survived the winter. They are still in the nursery containers/dirt, and planning on doing some repotting this year. Looking for some advice on either reasonably priced premixed soils or recipes for mixing that would be good in my area. It's pretty humid around here (DC area), but in late summer my potted vegetable garden gets pretty parched daily.

Johnnyd

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Newbie here. I got interested in Bonsai last year, picked up a few conifers from local nursuries, and they have survived the winter. They are still in the nursery containers/dirt, and planning on doing some repotting this year. Looking for some advice on either reasonably priced premixed soils or recipes for mixing that would be good in my area. It's pretty humid around here (DC area), but in late summer my potted vegetable garden gets pretty parched daily.
This is a highly debated subject dependent on environment, watering habits and container. Look at the soil and watering forums for past arguments a mean discussions. Click forums and scroll down.

TN_Jim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hello, reasonably priced soil has been a huge question for me starting out. Akadama and pumice are just not viable options for my area without dropping some serious coinage on shipping. This thread (below) has been immensely beneficial for me on many levels. Hope this helps.
https://www.bonsainut.com/threads/napa-oil-dry-part-no-8822.20908/

WNC Bonsai

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b