Mighty sequoia questions

Matt Regan

Sapling
Reaction score
Who's got some good info for me on the giant sequoia? I have a young tree in a pot and as of recently it's starting to look as if winter got to it? Some branches are becoming breakable

Attachments

• 20170323_172401.jpg
    20170323_172401.jpg
    420.9 KB · Views: 122

Cattwooduk

Shohin
Reaction score
I'm no expert... but that does not look to be in the prime of its life. :confused:

Victorim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
yeah man that looks walking deadish.. scratchy barky?

(edit: Scratch the bark on the trunk with your fingernail.. Can you see some green?)

Matt Regan

Sapling
Reaction score
Agreed. From what I've read it's not uncommon for young trees to golden if you will from winter. But until recently branches have been dying. But still has dark green young growth

ConorDash

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I know at least that they are one of the species that can absorb water through its leaves, which is what allows them to reach such heights when growing. Like ficus. A tree can only grow so tall from its roots but when it can absorb through its leaves too, it get some bigger..

This kind looks fried. Maybe got too much sun, maybe its roots weren't healthy enough to withstand it. Maybe didn't water enough. It's substrate looks very inorganic, hope you been watering a lot.
Maybe keep in shade, water well and hope it pulls through. Perhaps this is normal for it and we all just think it looks bad.

Victorim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
too many variables, but it`s alive. I`d would (sorry connor) put in full sun if watered well. Spark new growth if whats there is dieing.. But maybe someone with experience could help.. which was your opening line :p

Victorim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Keeping this tree anywhere near you will only serve to depress. It's a lost cause. Throw it away and get a new one in a smaller pot.