Minimum lighting requirements

eb84327

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I would like to find out how many lights I need to grow a bougainvillea and p. Afra's well indoors. Specifically I am looking for how many photons an hour these plants require. It would be cool to create a list for common tropical that come inside for winter.

cbroad

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Photons per hour? I have no idea...

In my opinion, more light the better. I feel like to keep up plant vigor, the minimum amount of light needed for most indoor plants would be 20,000 lumens, so that would be a 4' 4 tube high output fluorescent light. Those incandescent spot lights are useless for encouraging plant growth.

If you're talking about LEDs, than I don't really know, I have little experience with decent powered LEDs... I would guess anything less than a 100w fixture is useless for vigor. As far as PAR output for LEDs, I'm still not convinced high PAR actually induces vigor.

Last edited:

eb84327

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I used to Mh and HPS bulbs but for my current indoor setup I do not have much space and I am afraid of the heat and fire hazards. So I switched to HIDLED grow lights and so far they work well, I have 2 big ones that pull around 125watts each. The amount of photons per hour is high for each one also. There is all kinds of stuff about weed photon absorption rate but not bougainvilleas that I can find. I want to make sure I have strong enough lights.

eb84327

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Photons per hour? I have no idea...

In my opinion, more light the better. I feel like to keep up plant vigor, the minimum amount of light needed for most indoor plants would be 20,000 lumens, so that would be a 4' 4 tube high output fluorescent light. Those incandescent spot lights are useless for encouraging plant growth.