Miracle Grow Pearlite?

artao

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
I'm new to bonsai and today was picking up stuff to mix up some soil. I got 100% clay cat litter and was going to buy some pearlite, but the only stuff they had at the store was Miracle Grow pearlite, which the bag says has fertilizer in it.
I'm assuming that's a bad thing, and as such didn't buy it.
If I'm mistaken, I'll go back and get it.
As I understand, I can use only clay cat litter. However, I was also planning to go gather some pine bark and/or some leaf mould. The one tree I have right now is a small (~9.5 inches tall) yamadori juniperus virginiana. There's also a little broken spruce (norway spruce, I think) that I plan on going back to get this week. It pretty much has no chance of surviving where it's at (ATV riders, whom I assume trampled it in the first place) and as such I may as well give it a go in my hands. No loss right? Only experience and, thus, learning.
Thanks! :D

choppychoppy

Chumono
Reaction score
I'm new to bonsai and today was picking up stuff to mix up some soil. I got 100% clay cat litter and was going to buy some pearlite, but the only stuff they had at the store was Miracle Grow pearlite, which the bag says has fertilizer in it.
As I understand, I can use only clay cat litter. However, I was also planning to go gather some pine bark and/or some leaf mould. The one tree I have right now is a small (~9.5 inches tall) yamadori juniperus virginiana. There's also a little broken spruce (norway spruce, I think) that I plan on going back to get this week. It pretty much has no chance of surviving where it's at (ATV riders, whom I assume trampled it in the first place) and as such I may as well give it a go in my hands. No loss right? Only experience and, thus, learning.

NO CAT LITTER IN THE US. Only overseas is the cat litter acceptable to use in bonsai. Don't use garbage like decayed leaves either. Get some actual soils.

artao

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a