Money Tree not growing leaves.

jadednightdragon

Seedling
Reaction score
I'm very new to this species of plant, so please let me know if I'm doing something wrong!

I have a Money tree. I got it from Lowes. The pot had no holes and it had a large amount of smelling water in the bottom. I moved it into another pot that has drainage. Then they leaves started to get spots on them and they died off. Now there is one puny leaf left. Also it's peeling at the base of the plant.

I have it in full sun and I water it when I see that the soil is getting dry. I've uploaded 2 photos of the plant.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Attachments

• 20150314_191328.jpg
    20150314_191328.jpg
    241.6 KB · Views: 57
  • 20150314_191409.jpg
    20150314_191409.jpg
    270.7 KB · Views: 56
Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Smelly water goes hand in hand with root rot.

With no drainage holes, this was the problem. Those big roots even look pretty beat up.

I'm guessing you could let it get a tad dryer even, or use a chopstick.

It should come back.

The question is.....do you care of it does? Energies may be better spent elsewhere!

Sorce

jadednightdragon

Seedling
Reaction score
I'd love to see this beautiful plant come back. I got it because I thought it was very pretty.

Is there any special things I should do for it? I live in central Florida and this guy is in full sun most of the day.

Should I try to fertilize it?

Thanks

marc206

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
No do not fertilize. The last thing you want to do to a sickly plant is fertilize. It will most likely be the last thing you do to it. Keep it in part shade till the leaves come back. You don't want it in full sun right after a repot. what type of soil/aggregate did you use?

I also wouldn't consider ever making this a bonsai. I know they sell it at Lowes as a bonsai. But it is not. Very unnatural movement. They do make nice house plants. Good luck.

jadednightdragon

Seedling