Monterey Cypress

xc4life

Seed
Reaction score
I recently acquired a Monterey Cypress tree that looked perfect for a bonsai. The biggest problem is that I was in a hurry digging it up because I had to leave or i would never see the tree again. Also I am new to bonsai and this forum so if anybody could give me advice on this particular species that would be a lot of help. I looked everywhere and I cannot find much on Monterey Cypress. I would particularly like tips on trimming and wiring the tree.

Attachments

• 20140720_131604[1].jpg
    20140720_131604[1].jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 281
  • 20140720_131627[1].jpg
    20140720_131627[1].jpg
    206 KB · Views: 241
  • 20140720_131618[1].jpg
    20140720_131618[1].jpg
    210.2 KB · Views: 250

QuintinBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi! Welcome to Bnut! Don't forget to fill out your location info to properly give you the best plant care.

I'm curious as to how long it's been transplanted into that bonsai pot. At the time of collection, did you leave some of it's native soil around the tree? Was it planted into a large tub, pot, or container first? The reason I ask this is, any newly collected tree will be shocked from a dig. Any disturbance of the roots can cause any tree to stress. As a coastal native, I know they prefer moisture, but the potting soil is iffy.

You're right. There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of information about this particular species. You might find this link to be useful. http://www.gsbf-bonsai.org/2012/10/28/the-monterey-cypress/

Attachments

• 20140720_131604[1].jpg
    20140720_131604[1].jpg
    175.2 KB · Views: 219
  • 20140720_131618[1].jpg
    20140720_131618[1].jpg
    169.6 KB · Views: 180
  • 20140720_131627[1].jpg
    20140720_131627[1].jpg
    177.1 KB · Views: 187
Last edited:

Eric Schrader

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hi,