Most excellent Peter Tea blog post about summer work on Maples!

papymandarin

Shohin
Reaction score
what you showed was in no way valid refutations of the specific technique discussed, several of the references actually could equally explain why it works (need for the branch support, stresses on the branches ect). i grow my trees for a bit more than 15 years, i may just had more time to try things and realize some things are not as obvious as they seem, however i agree the validity of the technique does not depend on whether one is good at bonsai or not (artistically speaking). I'm a no-one amateur not knowing anyone here and known by no one either, so it's a bit sad to make it something personal.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
man.... we're going in circles.... And then it's me. Was this technique supposed to get trunks thicker fast? Are we kidding here?
Actually, it was to get the branch thicker. Not the trunk.

Once you put a tree in a bonsai pot, it’s very difficult to get trunk thickening to occur. For that you need a lot of root growth. And in a bonsai pot, there’s not much room for that.

Earlier, I posted a recap of the method: 1) develop trunk and nebari. 2) develop primary branches; 3) develop secondary branches; 4) begin ramification.

So, what he was trying to do was thicken a primary branch. NOT build trunk. The trunk was done.

What did not show is he will eventually chop that long branch, and let a new leader extend. And, later chop that one. And so on. Until he is happy with the caliper and taper of that branch.

THEN, he will let side (secondary) branches develop. And let them grow, and cut back, grow, and cut back... until he’s happy with them.

THEN, he might continue on in the same manner with tertiary branches!

THEN, begin ramification.

It takes a long time to build quality deciduous bonsai!

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone