Chrisdz89

Seed
Reaction score
Hello!
I’m pretty new to bonsai and started up the hobby a little over a year ago in Los Angeles, CA. My partner and I are now planning to move to Hawaii early next year. I have several deciduous tress (Japanese, trident maples and dawn redwood bonsai). Seeing that Hawaii doesn’t have a winter, is there a way I can create a winter environment for my bonsai. A refrigerator or a cooler of some sort. Please help!

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hello!
I’m pretty new to bonsai and started up the hobby a little over a year ago in Los Angeles, CA. My partner and I are now planning to move to Hawaii early next year. I have several deciduous tress (Japanese, trident maples and dawn redwood bonsai). Seeing that Hawaii doesn’t have a winter, is there a way I can create a winter environment for my bonsai. A refrigerator or a cooler of some sort. Please help!

Are you even sure you can take them?
I'm sure Hawaii has some regulations regarding plant importation. Might want to check that before you try to figure out how your going to keep them alive in an environment they aren't suitable for

Chrisdz89

Seed
Reaction score
Are you even sure you can take them?
I'm sure Hawaii has some regulations regarding plant importation. Might want to check that before you try to figure out how your going to keep them alive in an environment they aren't suitable for
Yeah I can definitely take my bonsai

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
The only way is to try a refrigerator. Not sure its worth the effort to be honest considering a refrigerator will cost several hundred dollars as best.

You need to provide progressively shorter day lengths, cooler nights as "fall" approaches, then a prolonged dormancy with temperatures below 40 degrees. Then do the opposite as "spring" comes

Plus refrigerators tend to dry out the plants.

Might be better to give them away and plan on getting trees more suited to Hawaii