Mugo pine advice

georgem59

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've just joined the forum today and this is my first post so go easy on me 😉. I'm a newbie as far as bonsai is concerned and I have a lot to learn.
I received my first bonsai, a Sagaretia theezans as a birthday gift from my mother in law in September 2020. I managed to keep it alive for 4 months before its sad demise. Since then I've picked up a couple of Chinese Elms and a few shrubs to practice with and have been pleased with how they are thriving and growing.
My wife bought me a Mugo pine "Allgau" from a local garden centre. I have repotted it. I only trimmed the roots slightly while doing this. When I removed the compost from the surface it exposed another 2" of trunk before any roots were visible. Its around 16" tallDSC_0035.JPG incl. pot.
Its my first pine and I am looking for advice please.....any ideas/tips are welcome on how to style it. When would you advise me do any wiring of the branches, or should I leave it until next season?
Thanks in advance.

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Leave it alone til next summer.

You have very nice needles already and lots of options.

If you were truly conservative with root management, you should be in good shape.

georgem59

Seedling
Reaction score
Leave it alone til next summer.

You have very nice needles already and lots of options.

If you were truly conservative with root management, you should be in good shape.
Thanks! Yes, I trimmed very little of the roots to get it in the bonsai pot due to it having been buried quite deep in the nursery pot, and I also don't see any visible graft.

Attachments

• DSC_0002.JPG
    DSC_0002.JPG
    175.1 KB · Views: 20

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Expansion in lower trunk may be graft. Consider wise advice to leave alone at least until 2022 for any work. Also if wanting any bigger trunk consider growing in bigger grow container or ground several years ;)

georgem59