Mugo pine repotting test

Dalmat

Shohin
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Mr Vance,my respect

I have purchased 4 nursery mugo pines,2 of them are mughus and other 2 are pumilios var.
So my plan is to try to grow a tree out of them with some potential to become a bonsai.I have some basic knowledge about bonsai.
I did my research on mugo pine and had read all the threads here about care for mugho pine.
That includes mugo pine care compiled posts from mr.Vance and posts with MyNelli and mr.Vance here and on IBC bonsai forum about timing for repotting mugos.
As you know mr.Vance recommends summer repotting and MyNeli did as recommended.
Unfortunately that didn't went well in the end and the tree died. After that an issue remains unsolved,and that is difference in climate areas in Europe and USA and time in season for repotting mugo pines.
Now guys I will try to resolve that issue as MyNeli climate zone is pretty much similar as mine.My plan is to repot the mugos in different time of the season. One, when the new needles separate,elongate and harden as mr.Vance said that is the time when he start all his work on mugos,that can happen here even in April,May. Second one I will repot in July how it is recommended in mugo pine care schedule.
Somebody may ask why my first step is repotting. I just have a peak inside the pot by gently slip the pot from root ball (not completely) and find out that in the bottom half inch, roots are circulated around a root ball and a soil is ordinary house plant soil.
I have prepared colanders,inorganic soil that is recommended by bonsai people here in Croatia.
(they know what are they talking about because they were mentored by mr.Walter Pall in person)and some organic soil made of 60%pine bark, 15%coconut shell etc. I will not cut a single branch or needle in this session.
Let's wait for the right time and find out the outcome. Maybe it early to start this thread but I'm