My boxwood nursery tree

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Was at Sam's club and they had some good sized boxwoods right by the door for a really good price so I couldn't pass picking one up.

This is the first tree I have completely done myself from nursery stock. I'm still new at bonsai (about 15 months into it) and have some trees I have done a few small things too, but this is the very first one I have done any in depth work on.

I'm almost ashamed to admit it took me 7 hrs to do the work on it because I bet most you could have done it in 1-2hrs, but I'm sure as I get more experience the amount of time will get better.

At any rate, I'd appreciate a little feedback on it so I can try to learn a bit more. Feedback as in perhaps what I did right? what I did wrong? What would you do next? I know it needs a tad more thinning out but I didn't want to overdo it all at once.

Before....
1yv9.jpg

After....
iali.jpg

pk6p.jpg

Bonsai_Bubba

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I like this! I think it's a really good first effort! Huzzah! With that said, I might think about selecting a new front for the tree, and pruning it down a little more. I'm a newb too though, so you might want to take someone else's advice. I thought this site might be interesting to read:

http://www.betterbonsai.com/bush/buxus/01.html

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I'd chop it down to less than half it's current height if this is mine.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
I agree with Dario -- well more than half. Umbrella shape. And I'd wire or pull those lower branches much further down while you still can.

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b