My Chinese Elm and recommended next steps

jI-tx

Seedling
Reaction score
I am a complete novice, so I would love to tell you my plan but I expect that it is wrong. Please blow it up and tell me what I should actually do. I would like to thicken the trunk, and from my understanding that means I need to let it grow and do less pruning. The new shoots are fairly plentiful but I've noticed yellowing on the old leaves that have been pinched to proper size. My intention is to water it as the soil indicates moisture is leaving (4-6 days right now) and continue to let it grow. Is this a good or bad plan?

Thanks as always for the feedback!

Attachments

• Attach0.jpg
    Attach0.jpg
    500.7 KB · Views: 69
  • Attach0 (1).jpg
    Attach0 (1).jpg
    408.8 KB · Views: 66

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
My Chinese Elm stays outside and needs water every day. If you want to thicken the trunk, the only way to do that is to let it grow. Elms are easy enough to grow branches on once you get the trunk you want.

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
The “fast” way to fatten trunks and add taper to elms is to plant them in the ground or growing bed and fert heavily for a few years.

Fattening trunks on trees in small bonsai pots tends to take much longer. Chinese elms are fun, enjoy!

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Growing a tree helps a lot with thickening the trunk (big pots help with growing), get more taper by removing the non-tapering bit of the trunk and grow a new leader (after the growing part is done). Welcome to the forum!

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to the site!

With Chinese elms, you need to trim them back throughout the growing season in order to maintain ramification and small leaves. Right now your tree is looking leggy because none of the new growth has been trimmed.