My ficus forest progress

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
About a year ago I was given a ficus forest by a friend. His Dad was into bonsai but had to go to an assisted living home so he gave me a few of his bonsai he had left and one was a ficus forest. It was really tall and pretty bare and scrawny looking when I got it and had some crossed trunks etc etc. So I started playing with it last fall and uncrossed some of the trunks. Then back in the spring of this year the height of it was just getting on my nerves so I said screw it and just hacked it down trunk chopping all of it.

Now I just brought my tropicals inside for the winter so thought I would snap a pic of it. First pics are from last year right after I got it, then the last two are from today. Don't get me wrong I'm under no belief that it's some great looking forest by any means ;) It still needs more trunk size, MUCH work on leaf reduction, finding which branches I want to save for future main branches etc etc. But it's pretty nice to see that it took so well to the trunk chops and put out so much new growth in the canopy over the summer.

nst2SU.jpg

vS1HNL.jpg

H6R3Nq.jpg

v47aA4.jpg

Steve C

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Time for the yearly update on this ficus forest. This is the group planting I got from a friends Dad a few year back when he had to go to an assisted living home. The first year I had it I chopped it down from its 30"+ height to about a 20" height chopping it down to nothing but some bare trunks. It grew back and then I chopped it a bit smaller last year. Now over the past year I have been working on wiring branches down and getting movement, plus ramification.