My First Attempt - "Emperor One" Maple (Step 1: Keeping it alive!)

Phanman

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4a
Hi Nuts!

I happen to stumble across your forum after trying to research as much as I can on the net and boy was I happy I did. There is just a wealth of knowledge here and I haven't been able to stop reading. I'm a noob of course but have always been fascinated by bonsai's and the styling of them. I was at my local nursery and happen to notice this maple tree in the very back corner hidden behind some other types of tropical trees. I pulled it out and there was this beautiful JM. The sales associate said GL with that and you probably have a 50% chance of keeping it alive because we live in zone 3 but she was willing to give it to me for $50. At this price I thought why not, this is my chance to break into the hobby.

My first question for you all is will it survive dormancy in my unfinished basement with no light over the winter? It gets to -30 celcius here so it probably wont survive the winter outside or in the unheated garage its first year. Its to late to repot now but my plan for now is to keep it outside during the day and bring into the house at night until all the leaves fall off. At this point I would store it in the basement where it should be cool enough until next April where ill repot, trim?, and wire a little. It will be a few years before i can even think of air grafting this thing as the trunk of the tree isnt thick enough (currently 1").

Lots to learn until then but the first thing is keeping it alive through the winter.

Front

Back

Side

Trunk Base

Shaping Question:

It seems one branch has turn in on itself and is overlapping one of the main branches quite heavily. Can i cut off the red marked branch, wire the green circle branch so that it points to the green arrow once the leaves fall off? Or would you not touch anything at all at this point.

Look forward to any suggestions or feedback. Here to absorb all your knowledge lol.