my first scots pine. what do you think?

redox1856

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello all. This is my first attempt at a scots pine. Got it for $20. Any suggestions would be appriciated. Thank you

Attachments

• 37F6DFE9-A596-43AE-A9F3-31A1699E1EFF.jpeg
    37F6DFE9-A596-43AE-A9F3-31A1699E1EFF.jpeg
    413.6 KB · Views: 189
  • E5FDEDD2-F810-4662-8717-FCBD3E34408E.jpeg
    E5FDEDD2-F810-4662-8717-FCBD3E34408E.jpeg
    242.1 KB · Views: 193
  • 30FF929C-716E-4DF3-8D12-10A7E9A012B6.jpeg
    30FF929C-716E-4DF3-8D12-10A7E9A012B6.jpeg
    254 KB · Views: 184
  • 4EF6D655-BE7F-48B3-9CFE-7EEA480C5916.jpeg
    4EF6D655-BE7F-48B3-9CFE-7EEA480C5916.jpeg
    262.8 KB · Views: 167
  • 0B4571B9-E3F2-41D8-A909-09212C33C8D3.jpeg
    0B4571B9-E3F2-41D8-A909-09212C33C8D3.jpeg
    262.9 KB · Views: 154

Warpig

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
The first thing that sticks out to me is the upward grow, which screams young new growth. If you want to help make a branch look older, add some smag and have the tips lower.

River's Edge

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hello all. This is my first attempt at a scots pine. Got it for $20. Any suggestions would be appriciated. Thank you
How were the roots when you repotted? How long do you expect the recovery to take? What is your plan to get foliage in closer to the trunk for design purposes?
Your first step will be to stabilize and strengthen the tree before further work. Right!

redox1856

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
i didnt touch the roots. scraped off the top to expose the nabari and it fit in the pot. i was going to give it till spring to touch the roots. i don't know how to get the foliage closer.

AppleBonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
i didnt touch the roots. scraped off the top to expose the nabari and it fit in the pot. i was going to give it till spring to touch the roots. i don't know how to get the foliage closer.