My First yamadori Privet/Ligustrum

Ugo

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5A
Hi!

Today I collected my first yamadori from my parents place (Homeadori? :)

I'm about to sell the house but I would like to take a couple of the Ligustrum's with me!
I read they are hard to kill! Which is a perfect first tree to collect for me!

I have about 30 of them so here the first one I took out today.
Unfortunately not much root mass, only big tap roots that were too long to keep.

Since this is my first try at collecting, I would like to know if you have advises!
I'm trying to make sure I'm doing everything correctly as its not easy to get more experience.

I plan on cutting the big bulge under the base, cuts the bigger roots while keeping as much feeder roots.
Do I have to seal the cuts, especially the scar left after cutting the bulge that will be in substrate?

As for the branches, I guess I can reduce them as much as I want, even really close to the base?

For now I let the whole tree soak in water for 24hrs, the time I build a proper box for it.

I am planning on placing the tree in straight pumice... that's is easily available to me for cheap, is there a better substrate I should use?

20220411_171100.jpg20220411_171118.jpg20220411_171125.jpg20220411_171133.jpg

What it should look like with the bulge removed:
I will do a drawing or 2 before cutting the branches yet just to have a better idea of the tree.
1649719799829.png

Thanks
Ugo

Attachments

• 20220411_142059.jpg
    20220411_142059.jpg
    479.3 KB · Views: 21

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Sweet privet, I would cut back the branches way further. Nice base!!!

Reactions: Ugo

Ugo

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5A
Hi!

Thanks!
The base measure 6in.
There is 2 that are even bigger but I wanted to dig this one up at first as its also a good candidate.

As you mentionned the branches has been reduced and the bulge removed.

20220412_000644.jpg
20220412_133539.jpg
20220412_164724.jpg

Ugo

Shohin