My Japanese Red Pine (Akamatsu)

Shun

Mame
Reaction score
Hello!

I've been enjoying bonsai for a few years now and living in an apartment always with poor sunlight and little space restricted me to only get just a few (and small) trees.
Recently I've been renting space in my local bonsai store so I could leave my trees there as I was worried some of them were not growing nicely and had dull colors on their leafs, I knew I didn't have the best place for them

Now with this new space and better growing conditios I went ahead and bought a big (to me) JRP.. I felt I wanted an "iconic" piece in my "collection". Sharing some pics and a small 360 video of it.

20220512_150332.jpg
20220512_150405.jpg
20220512_153109.jpg
20220512_153120.jpg

2 concerns:
1- I'm kinda lost on how on earth I'm going to repot this tree as my experience on bonsai is restricted to mame and shohin plants
2- styling. I saw potential in this JRP and big trunked ones are very hard to come by here in Brazil so i just bit the bullet

Hope you guys like it!

Thanks!

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Tree has possibilities. However beware Red pine brittleness when making bends. Any Bonsai club or other keeper to help or mentor you locally:confused:.

Shun

Mame
Reaction score
Tree has possibilities. However beware Red pine brittleness when making bends. Any Bonsai club or other keeper to help or mentor you locally:confused:.
Humm! Is it that much brittle than a JBP? I will keep that in mind!

Got in touch with an bonsai professional locally and we are planning on working on this very soon! in a couple of weeks! Will update the thread with more pics and maybe videos of it as we go!

I'm really anxious about making a fist styling on it! Oh boy! Just hoping not to mess it up hehehe

LanceMac10

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone