My JH Elm

Graft

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I had this jh elm bought for me a couple of months ago. I am very new to bonsai, so I'm seeking opinion of what I have done to it and where I should go next. I only planted it in pot last month and the roots have already taken over the pot. The wound at the base of the trunk was a singular large root which I removed today.

Already cut a few wayward / unwanted branches. But this is the before image.

20200728-_DSC7461.JPG

This the after image. It is bottom heavy but I'm going to leave it until next year before doing any more heavy pruning. I've turned the pot to its new angle. Not sure whether to grow the top foliage together or split to a new right hand branch and new apex. I think the tree wants it that way, what do you think.

WIN_20200801_17_45_53_Pro.jpg

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
A month ago was summer right!? And Yorkshire is the place @Clorgan told me I have to visit because the people are "rough around the edges"?

Chalk one up for another Summer success!

I think you can afford to let it grow to thicken up, these leaves likely will get rather small, still, I think you can afford a little trunk swelling before starting branches. You really only get one chance to get proportions right.

I'd consider throwing it in a proper air root pruning basket or colander, to set up a good fibrous roots and put on trunk, then potting it bonsai in a year or 4.

Taking one trunk as a cutting or layer to have a second good elm to start with wouldn't be terrible either!

Sorce

Clorgan

Omono
Reaction score
A month ago was summer right!? And Yorkshire is the place @Clorgan told me I have to visit because the people are "rough around the edges"?

Chalk one up for another Summer success!