My Latest Indoor Greenhouse

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
So, I'm a complete newb on the whole bonsai thing...but, I'm a hort. major, I do love my plants and know a decent amount about them and their physiology..

First, as far as the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" thought (redwood ryan), I can certainly see where you're coming from...but, with this..you ain't gonna break anything by adding some co2..I can promise you that and have used it in the past quite a bit.. Consider that in the normal air that we breathe, CO2 levels are about 350ppm. In an enclosed space with lots of plants, CO2 levels can be greatly depleted during the respiration process. I'm sure that everything about the way bonsai are grown minimizes this...but, the fact remains that plants will use it up in small, contained spaces and depending on how much plant material and the volume of the space, it sometimes absolutely must be added..and generally is a great benefit and causes accelerated growth...which I would think in bonsai could be extremely useful...basically would "age" the tree faster..

Now, even if your plants are not depleting the levels in the room...that does not mean they wouldn't like more.. As I said above, co2 is typically around 350 ppm in the air we breathe...many plants are able to USE CO2 at levels up to 1500ppm or even a bit more... Many plants will grow faster by 1/3 or more..some are able to synthesize the CO2 for themselves (C4 plants) to maximum efficiency and do not benefit from the higher levels..but most all trees are c3 plants and will benefit. Another residual benefit is reduced respiration (water loss), so plants are more drought tolerant, and will tolerate lower humidity than they would prefer normally and will be happier and grow faster at higher temperatures. When you think about it, it's quite amazing because as CO2 levels rise in the atmosphere, temps do as well...so obviously plants are "designed" to tolerate these changes and adapt..