My new Chinese Elm Project

Darran

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I have picked this elm up today for a small £25 fee. I am sure it has more faults than features, but I'm a beginner and I thought it would be a good experiment for me to learn a few things.

firstly the base is rather odd it has two thick roots going out then the trunk is continuing straight down for at least another inch as far as I can tell. the two horizontal roots seem to have been cut and smaller roots grow from the tip.

did not want to move to much soil as I don't know what I am doing, and don't want to kill it.

What are peoples thoughts on how to approach the improvement of this tree.

Attachments

• IMG_0048.JPG
    IMG_0048.JPG
    184.5 KB · Views: 107
  • IMG_0049.JPG
    IMG_0049.JPG
    159.3 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_0050.JPG
    IMG_0050.JPG
    138.2 KB · Views: 76
  • IMG_0051.JPG
    IMG_0051.JPG
    154.2 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_0052.JPG
    IMG_0052.JPG
    187.1 KB · Views: 72
  • IMG_0060.JPG
    IMG_0060.JPG
    171.7 KB · Views: 66
  • IMG_0055.JPG
    IMG_0055.JPG
    116.4 KB · Views: 69

Darran

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I would like to change the pot at some point as I don't like it, I thought of a shallower oval pot with better soil of maybe a single part pumice, acadama and pumice mixture, which seems to be the go to choice on the videos I have been watching recently. Have no idea of the growing cycle of this tree yet to determine when repotting, pruning and footwork should be done. Any info would be great, in the meantime I am going to do more reading / video watching

Darran

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
First bit of investigation and I a sure this tree was incorrect labelled in the nursery as it said it was zalcova, but it I believe is Ulmus Parvifolia.

Repotting this tree will need to wait until early spring next year, feb - mar in the UK.