My Poor Pines

Trempie4

Sapling
Reaction score
Absolute newbie here with a long time interest in bonsai. That said, definitely a green thumb but no experience with bonsai, a few potted Japanese maples in my backyard, and lots of perennials. At 53 yo w a poor track record of male longevity in my lineage bonsai seems silly but what the heck, off I go. Location background: Baltimore city with 20' wide backyard, with about 20 sq ft of available space so it will never turn into a hoarding hobby although I've planted the seeds of backyard maintenance for my neighbor in exchange for another 10' of dead space in the back of their yard, that's still in negotiation.

Covid, a lack of business travel opportunities related to covid, and a brother in law with a mountain house in WV where I've seen a lot of inspirationally gnarled "mountain pines" has led to the resurgence of interest in the hobby. My fossil hobby also keeps me in potentially interesting areas where trees of character can occasionally be found.

I read a few forum posts which I though I had explained the overall basics of successful wild collecting and transplanting back home but in delving deeper into the weeds I've discovered that I've most likely already made flaws that will lead to the demise of the everything I've brought home with a trunk diameter thicker than 1/4". I've been able to collected a few fun and potentially interesting pines (to me at least and thankfully this hobby is semi-subjective and artistically generous) from the following locations:

1. Loblolly - Smithfield, VA (I believe this is a loblolly but feel free to correct if incorrect)
2. Pitch Pine(s) - NJ Pines Barrens area
3. Unknown Pine - Lost River, WV (some ID assistance on this one would be greatly appreciated) (looks like 2 needles with a 1-1.5" needle length which is nice!)