My Quaking Aspen Project

Canonfodder

Sapling
Reaction score
1D4EE441-72F9-4ED0-AB9B-9B38C385EAB7.jpeg
I found this young quaking Aspen tree at my local Lowe’s store for $10. As I am just beginning my journey into the art of bonsai, I have decided to take the advise of others in this forum and focus on how to successfully keep a tree alive. As a Colorado native, I have decided to focus my attention on the species that are common here. Though I have been advised that aspens are not very good for bonsai, I decided to still try and work with it.
58EEF40C-9184-4206-AF1E-8F2E0886F981.jpeg9DFDD387-1FC8-4C6E-97E6-E432D9F7C9B7.jpeg
First off, I focused on cleaning up the roots for the tree. To my surprise, I discovered that there was five large roots that split out like a star. This really excited me! I trimmed the smaller access roots and the ones that were pointing up from the base as I have read, making sure not to disturb the main roots. Then placing the tree in a plastic pot filled with potting soil, I set the tree in and pushed some soil into the recesses of the roots to make sure there was enough soil within. Then I poured some more potters soil in to ensure that the root system was covered from the base of the tree down.
BFF49C47-5279-46FA-A359-5C787F01D8AD.jpeg
Before I began the process, my one your old German Short-haired Pointer Blitz, decided he wanted to test out the tree for himself and left his mark on it. I hope he didn’t damage it to much.
69F7AFD6-1310-4C50-B7A4-F3BA9B27370A.jpeg

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hopefully tree will branch below Blitzkriegs damage(-;. Some beginning to work with these but seems maybe dieback from un judicious pruning is major problem to deal with.

Canonfodder

Sapling
Reaction score
Hopefully tree will branch below Blitzkriegs damage(-;. Some beginning to work with these but seems maybe dieback from un judicious pruning is major problem to deal with.