Mycorrhizae and fertilizers

Desert Dweller

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
I have recently done some repotting and noticed fairly weak root development in some of my trees. I have been using a fairly loose 70/30% mix of Haydite and bark. I believed that this loose mixture would promote better root growth.

As a result I have been researching the importance of micorrhizae fungi in overall plant health and vitality. I am aware through much of the literature the importance of this biological component to the health of Pines. I did not notice any of this biological activity in any of my plants though I do include original soil in my repotting. Many sources for the innoculants mention using low number organic fertilizers. I have been using chemical fertilizers on my trees for several years.

I am curious what may be the experience of others working with bonsai to cultivating mycorrhizae in their plants while using loose mixtures. Has anyone been using any of the innoculants with much success and what sort of fertilizer they are using.

I have tried some organic type fertilizers (powdery) which tend to just clog the system up when used at the recommended proportions. I am also concerned that my dog will consider the fertilizer cake types as tasty tidbits. I have not found much for liquid organics beyond fish emulsion (5-1-1) which my dog also loves. To top things off, I live in a pretty "bonsai hostile" environment which I have largely learned to overcome.

Looking for any experiences and recomendations.

Glider

Yamadori
Reaction score
I have used mycorrhyzal innnoculant with good results (I only used it once and use old soils and root clippings to re-innoculate when repotting). Mycorrhyzae tend to thrive under marginal conditions; loose soils with low levels of nutirents. The innoculant powder usually contains other microoganisms too; soil bacteria and so-on.