Natal Plum

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
I am new to bonsai (only about a year, although I have 7 trees :) ) I have had a Natal Plum since August, and it is growing like a weed. I know it needs some serious pruning, but I want to see it bloom. I would appreciate any advice. Should I let it grow, and see if it blooms, or go ahead and prune it. I have an Australian Brush Cherry that is putting out some buds, so I thought the Natal Plum, might start soon also?

GrimLore

Bonsai Nut alumnus... we miss you
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I was away when you sent the PM but I just replied. When it blooms and how it blooms will depend on the previous way it was cared for this year. After this you will have control of that by proper trimming.

Grimmy

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
I was away when you sent the PM but I just replied. When it blooms and how it blooms will depend on the previous way it was cared for this year. After this you will have control of that by proper trimming.

Grimmy
I apologize for sending a personal message. I just joined, so wasn't sure how to start a conversation. It sits in a south facing area by my patio door. I water it when the top half inch or so feels dry. I have read that the blooms form on the rounded leaves, so have been hesitant to prune it, in case I chop off something that might become a flower bud.

GrimLore

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I just joined, so wasn't sure how to start a conversation.

No worries, I often have PM's and many times phone calls. I was just away from the PC. When did you acquire the plant?

Grimmy

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
No worries, I often have PM's and many times phone calls. I was just away from the PC. When did you acquire the plant?

Grimmy
I got it last August from Eastern Leaf Nursery.

GrimLore

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b