Natural Raft in an industrial park

Rusty Davis

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Black locust... I believe. The thorns are in pairs. I started playing with one but it was evicted after the first year. I just wasn't feeling it

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Black locust... I believe. The thorns are in pairs. I started playing with one but it was evicted after the first year. I just wasn't feeling it
I took some early season cuttings of a Honey Locust (no thorns, smaller and tighter leaves) that is out front, this year...
Doing well so far...we'll see.
I love the bark on them.

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
I love the sweet scented flowers of the ones in my yard and their natural tendency for dying back and making elegant jins and sharis. I don't think I've ever seen a natural raft before. Thanks for posting.

Rusty Davis

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I have a hiking trail that has a ton of black locust and some honey/golden locust. If the weather would get a little better I'll go for a walk and see if I can get some good pics. My fat dog needs it anyway

just.wing.it

Deadwood Head
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Here's the one in my front yard, the largest limb broke off in a storm a few years ago, and fell on my old car, while a friend and I stood there and watched....
It has many new shoots on the trunk now, underneath where it broke off.
1493476030468-1605540832.jpg 1493476102947345560060.jpg 1493476168044735934009.jpg

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
Here are couple in my front yard (along with my butt-head neighbors house).
IMG_0885.JPG
And some more young ones that came up from roots of a dead one, getting ready to bloom. I love the slanting although I doubt my yard guy does. IMG_0886.JPG

There are better ones I look forward to seeing on my drive to and from work.

Wilson

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone