Neat pot

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I was in a local second-hand market the other day, and this big pot immediately caught my eye; the price was right (cheap actually, shhh), I liked it, so I bought it. It's been used, but that adds to the charm for me. I think it's Tokoname, not that it matters; I like it anyway. But it would be nice to know more about it. There's a small stamp. Unfortunately, I cannot make out anything. Since I'm still learning about pots, I was wondering if someone more knowledgeable here could give me a clue :)

IMG_0378.jpg IMG_0379.jpg IMG_0380.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
You'll need to give a much better view of the chop (stamp) before anyone can make out details.
It appears to be cast construction but mass produced slip cast pots don't normally have a chop (maybe I'm completely wrong with that diagnosis too).
Most chops are also on the base of the pot where this appears to be on one side. Maybe those are important factors that someone recognizes and can give more background.

As you say, regardless of the provenance its a good and useful pot. All you need now is a tree that suits it

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
It could be an old Yamaaki pot. If you rubbed some flour or baby powder into the chop and photographed the characters it may be possible to ID. The clay body and shape is right. 1st Gen Yamaaki got started by replicating Chinese pots, and the old man used to put his chop on the front wall sometimes…which I think is kinda cool. It could also be a Chinese production pot.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yum.

Sorce

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Nice looking pot. I like the distinction of the chop mark on the side of the pot. It’s an element of interest.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone