Need advice for collecting a large maple

James89

Seedling
Reaction score
I have been offered a very large acer. UK zone 8. I have some experience collecting trees but they have never been of this quality. Does anyone have experience lifting maples? Is this tree just too big to bonsai and should I keep it as a landscape tree? Do dissectum respond well to hard pruning?

I do have until next year to lift it so I can trench it. My plan was to trench it and pick it up early next year. Find a large enough pot add some sphagnum and wrap it in bubble wrap to protect from unexpected frosts as I dont have a green house for protection.

Attachments

• 20210701_230519.jpg
    20210701_230519.jpg
    446.3 KB · Views: 61
  • 20210701_100339.jpg
    20210701_100339.jpg
    387.1 KB · Views: 60
  • 20210701_100343.jpg
    20210701_100343.jpg
    259.8 KB · Views: 61

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Acer palmatum usually transplant fairly easily I've moved some bigger ones with no problem, even with very reduced roots but have had an occasional upset where part of the trunk or the whole thing dies unexpectedly. I generally bare root maples to make them easier to handle. Shaking the soil off roots does not seem to worry AP transplants. 2 years ago I got 2 about this size that were hauled out of a car park by machine then dumped in the back of my daughter's tray truck and left for the day. She delivered them that evening so the roots were in air most of the day. I trimmed damaged roots and planted them and both are now fine except for some trunk damage caused by the digger,

Your plan to trench is probably good insurance as new roots within the transplant zone will give added surety.