Need advice for my Trident Maple starter tree. (pics included)

deutsch

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hi guys. Im still new to bonsai and this trident maple is one of my first trees I got at the end of last summer. I bought it off of ebay for $20. It looks like the guy was growing it with multiple trunks, and I have not not done any trimming on it whatsoever. He chopped the tips of the trunks off, but I was hoping for a taller tree. Im going for the miniature tree upright style (nothing with a overly large bloated trunk). What would you guys reccomend I do to grow it taller and look natural? I already have it in an oversized training pot to help the trunk thicken up some. It has lost all but a few of its leaves for winter as you can see.

Attachments

• PIC_0002.jpg
    PIC_0002.jpg
    182.5 KB · Views: 124
  • PIC_0007.jpg
    PIC_0007.jpg
    172.2 KB · Views: 97
Last edited:

Nybonsai12

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I know you say you don't want an overly bloated trunk, but this tree needs to go in the ground and let grow for a few years. Good luck with it.

ghues

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I know you say you don't want an overly bloated trunk, but this tree needs to go in the ground and let grow for a few years. Good luck with it.

What he said .......that was my first impression too.... you'll get way better results with it in the ground in 5 years than you will in that training pot in say 15.
Good luck and welcome to the nuthouse.
Graham

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot