Need advise

quarinteen

Seed
Reaction score
Hello all. I am new to bonsai trees. I had them in the past but they always die on me pretty quick. I do not have a green thumb at all. I just got a new juniper and I put it outside and it was out to long I guess. I live in Vegas and it was like 105. Anyways the leaves on it are starting to turn brown, and they are starting to become “crunchy” is the best way I can describe it. How can I bring this back? I put it outside because I keep it a little cool in the house and thought it may need some sun light. I have literally had this for 10 days

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Our semi long lost friend @milehigh_7 has kept things in Vegas for some time.
Do search his content. Specifically the need to use substrate that needs to be watered often, as opposed to a highly water retentive mix that boils and kills trees.

Welcome to Crazy.

If you're not watering e times a day, your trees will probly die.
If your soil doesn't need to be watered 3 times a day to stay moist, your trees will probly die.

Sorce

DonovanC

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I second that, 105°F and low humidity equals dry soil. Like @sorce said, it’s not unusual to need to water a tree 2-3 times a day; morning, noon, and evening. Just check the soil, if it’s dry, water it. If it’s moist, leave it be - maybe give it a mist.
Also, there’s a fine chance that your crunchy juniper has gone too far. Junipers are pretty tolerant, but once they get to a certain point, they tend to be a bit unforgiving.
Good luck! And don’t give up - grab another $5-$10 juniper from a garden center for practice.

Edit: Also, of course a free draining bonsai soil is a must. You can search the many, many threads about proper soil.

Last edited:

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b