Need help asap please

BonsaiForGio

Seedling
Reaction score
I recently purchased a trident maple on the 9th of September, and something is wrong with several of the leaves and I need help figuring out what's wrong so I can fix it asap please. When my bonsai arrived, several of the leaves had portions of black/grey areas that I assume are dead/dying, I'm new to bonsai and want to properly care for my trees. First image is my grove, and the second highlights the issue.

Attachments

• 20200908_183031.jpg
    20200908_183031.jpg
    190.7 KB · Views: 98
  • 20200908_183004.jpg
    20200908_183004.jpg
    333.2 KB · Views: 99
Reactions: YAN

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome Aboard!

Hmm.... looks to me a couple things are going on.

Also the new leaves definitely aren't as green as they should be compared to mine, so it almost looks like your forest has a fertilizer issue or was kept in the dark for awhile.

It could be underwatered or overwatered. Funny, sometimes it looks the same for both. Or the ubiquitous fall fungus.

But Tridents are tough, so not to get too touchy at this time.

Tell use more:
1. Enter your approximate location in your profile so we can tell where you are and know approximately what conditions the trees are in.
2. Tell us about the particulars of the purchase. Since its only 2 days in your possession whatever has happened occurred before you. So:
  • Where did you purchase this forest? Location of seller...
  • Was it in transit?
  • If so, about how long?
  • Where are you keeping it now? (how much sun?)
Cheers
DSD sends

BonsaiForGio

Seedling
Reaction score
Welcome Aboard!

Hmm.... looks to me a couple things are going on.

Also the new leaves definitely aren't as green as they should be compared to mine, so it almost looks like your forest has a fertilizer issue or was kept in the dark for awhile.