Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to bonsai and was gifted a Chinese Elm back in May. I am living in the DC area and do not have anywhere outdoors to keep it, so it has been fully inside for the last 5 or so months.

For the first 4+ months I kept it in a window that got moderate sunlight with a growth light on it for 10 hours a day to ensure it got adequate light. I have been watering when the soil is nearly dry (every 1-3 days) and keeping it away from any vents so that it does not get a draft from the AC. Recently, the leaves began browning and I thought that with the warm temperatures in DC and the fact the AC had been on more frequently the bonsai might be struggling in a cooler environment. As a note, I was away many weekends this summer and it seemed like the bonsai always looked its best on Sundays when I returned after having the AC off for 2-3 days at a time. Recently I have been in town more, so the bonsai didn't get that.

I had read a good amount how Chinese Elms can do well in a greenhouse because of the humidity, so I made an Ikea greenhouse cabinet. Pictures are below (the soil is damp because I watered today for the first time in about a week), but there is a humidifier, fans and LED lights (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B082PJJC8S?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details) that are on for 8 hours per day. As the leaves have continued to brown and fall off (they are pretty crisp), I have decreased the watering and hoped that the bonsai would bounce back a little in its humid environment. This has not happened, so I'm looking for some advice on where I may have gone wrong but also on what I can do to make sure it survives through the fall and winter. Any help is appreciated!

I am also planning to get more plants to put in this greenhouse, but wanted to get the bonsai on the right track first. Any suggestions on what to add / avoid in terms of sharing a space with a bonsai is also appreciated!

Thank you!

Attachments

• unnamed (6).jpg
    unnamed (6).jpg