Need help with Japanese Red Pine structural development

sprout

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hi everyone. Some advice/thoughts would be much appreciated to set me on the right path. I've read a lot on bonsai (to the point of confusing myself) but a total noob in practice so now I'm just like deer in headlights o_O... totally frozen. I've had this JRP for about 1.5 years, haven't repotted since my acquisition, cautiously candle pruned in spring, bud selected to 2 on the strong branches late Sept./early Oct. and that's about it. My concern is that this tree has this long awkward branch that is very vigorous (see 1st image) and it looks to me that it could be starting to create a reverse taper (see 2nd image). Any thoughts on where to go from here? Shorten branch or maybe just reduce buds & needles? Or, leave it alone for now?

JRP_1.jpg

JRP_2.jpgJRP_3.jpgJRP_4.jpg

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
I wouldn’t worry about the area you circled having reverse taper, but rather that it has no branches. Due to that, I would probably look at the branch below it to become the next section of trunk, and let the yellow circled area become sacrifice growth to thicken the whole trunk.

I can see primary branches in blue arrows, and eventually the lowest left branch removed. Careful bending branches, JRP are brittle and snap with no warning.

It is healthy looking, and JRP aren’t common, so you’re doing good, take your time. Don’t worry about repotting it unless the soil stays wet and won’t dry out, in which case, repot in the spring.
819E8930-51C6-4189-9BC1-988194DF523A.jpeg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
I would also view that section as a sacrifice branch just grown to thicken the lower trunk.
I would be more worried about the lower fork where there are 2 branches from that strong trunk makes 3 junction. One branch appears to be strong so thickening there may happen faster.