Need help with Litchi fruit and Mango tree info

Reaction score
USDA Zone
i have started growing 10 Litchi fruit and 2 Mango trees. any advise will help. My Litchi's have what look like tiny ants crawling around in them, and the leaves look like they have been burnt. My Mango trees are doing well from what i see. do i need to plant them close or keep them in separate pots. i have been told that any and all fruit bearing trees/plants need a mate, as in male and female. Do i need to plant more Mango or will 2 be enough? i have very little knowledge of the Litchi, but i have eaten them and they are very tasty. Their nutritional value is outstanding. Also i would love to try my luck with Jack fruit trees, if anyone can help.........

Thank You so much
Mary Johnson

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy Mary Johnson!

I could never get a Mango to go past about 8 leaves.

Sorce

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Majority of mangos are self compatible, meaning you only need one. Lichi, I don't know. Jackfruit I don't know if they are self fertile.

All 3 fruits you mentioned have large to very large leaves. None have ''good traits'' for bonsai. That sais it is likely you won't get a lot of responses with first hand experience, you will get peoples thoughts from''internet experience'', meaning they read about it.

I've eaten all 3 fruits, and they are wonderful, well worth growing. You can even use some ''bonsai pruning techniques'' to keep them more compact. But these are very unlikely to make good bonsai. Especially Jackfruit, as its leaves are huge. So enjoy these in your container orchard, but don't wast your time trying to make them bonsai.

Anthony

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Mary,

with Mango, try for 3 feet in height. If it were possible look for - Table Top - mangoes are smaller than normal about 2".
They also hang like grapes.