Need repotting advice on Japanese maples

BalconyBonsai

Yamadori
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to bonsai and got my first tree this spring. Just last week I received 3 new trees from an online vendor, a japanese maple(no specific variety), a deshojo japanese maple and a trident maple. All of them seem healthy with nice foliage and new leaves forming but the soil they are planted in seems horrible. When pressing it it is really hard and it is not possible to press a finger in to it. When watering, it pools on the surface, eventually draining out at the bottom. On the deshojo it seems there is also a lot of roots on the surface of the soil, to me indicating that it's pot bound? On the trident maple there was also quite a lot of liverworts on the soil.

My question now is whether I need to do an emergency repot of these before fall or if I should wait until spring? I know you are not supposed to repot until the sprung but I am worried the condition of the soil is too bad. I was planning to repot the deshojo(and maybe also the common japanese maple) in the spring anyway into a larger training pot since I would like the trunk to grow a bit larger. I dont know if that will change things since that might mean I won't need to do as much root pruning and maybe that is more forgiving for the trees?

For context, I live in Stockholm Sweden where we will have cold weather in a couple of months. My plan is to build an overwintering shelter on my balcony and isolating the pots with styrofoam and bubble plastic wrap and some sort of greenhouse plastic where these trees will be kept.

Any tips and suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 20200804_064417.jpg
    20200804_064417.jpg
    252.1 KB · Views: 142
  • 20200804_064355.jpg
    20200804_064355.jpg
    274 KB · Views: 136
  • 20200804_064342.jpg
    20200804_064342.jpg
    252.6 KB · Views: 143
  • 20200804_065552.jpg
    20200804_065552.jpg
    239.8 KB · Views: 148

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score