Need some advice on my first pine

cheesecakeFTW

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi!

I'm rather new to bonsai and I have recently aquired my first pine, a mugo to be specific.
He had a nice thick base as opposed to the others in the nursery and for 120SEK (~15$) I think it was a catch.
I'm thinking I will try to make this a shohin size bonsai since the trunk is very short and compact.
pine.jpgio.jpgiuh.jpg

I have read alot about mugos on these forums and elsewhere but I still have some questions. I will outline my plan for the future based on my current knowledge but please correct me where I´m wrong so that I don´t kill this little tree!

The only thing I did when I got the tree about a month ago was to select two buds on each branch to keep and cut the rest off. The buds are now extending nicely:
ifoki.jpg

I will water it whenever the soil gets dry which is pretty much every day on my south-facing, windy balcony and I will give it liquid fertilizer once a week during the growing season.

I am not sure wether to cut back this years new growth in the summer once the candles have extended or not? And if I do cut it back do I leave a few needles of new growth or cut it all the way back? I have read differing opinions about this.

In early august I will repot it in 80% pumice 20% pine bark. I will only cut the bottom third of the roots off and open up the rest a little without taking away to much of the soil.
At this point I can also prune off some of the branches (leaving a short stub) and wire the tree to make an initial styling? How many of the branches can I remove, this tree is wery overgrown:
if.jpg
Also, can I cut back the branches that I keep a little bit to shorten them, provided that I leave some needles on every branch I want to keep?

After this I will not work the tree for the entire next year, just cut back the new growth a bit to encourage backbudding.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone