New Bonsai Indoors, Low Light

gward

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,

I've never done a bonsai before, I'd like to have one at my office. The problem is there aren't any windows, so no natural light. I have a pretty good grow light that I could put on a timer if needed.

I also live in an area where it would have to be indoors for half the year, which unfortunately means the air is also dry. I could help with that by misting or the pebble water tray if needed.

The temperature indoors is anywhere from 65 to 70 F.

So that brings me to the question, any recommendations for an attractive bonsai for a beginner in those conditions?

Sansui

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
There ought to be a law about workplaces with no windows! Trying a ficus or fukien tea plant would be my suggestion, but there are many other indoor varieties that thrive indoors.

bonsaichile

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Bonsai need to be outside. Trees dont grow insidr. Even in winter, bonsai need to eb outside. You can keep some tropical species alive indoors with a proper set up, but the trees will be unhappy and not develop properly

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Ficus is your best bet. Consider a willowleaf or better yet one of the benjamina. My experience with them is that the benjamina will grow inside under proper lighting and pebble tray, with regular fertilizing, as it will outside. Additionally it is easier to keep track of. Most of my other tropical s really do respond to going outside in warm weather, but my ficus is growing as well as it can under t-5 fluorescent lighting. I literally have to prune it every 2 to 3 weeks.
Best of luck to you.

Carol 83

Flower Girl
Reaction score
Consider a willowleaf
My willow leaf drops all it's leaves and sits like a dead thing all winter. And it is in a southern exposure with grow lights. Maybe a different ficus would be a better choice. Or a jade.

Last edited:

gward

Seedling
Reaction score