New Bonsai photo book

Stephen Voss

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi all,
I'm new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself.

I'm a photographer based in Washington, DC and for the past year, I've been photographing the bonsai at the National Bonsai & Penjing Museum here in DC.

I just launched a campaign to make a book of the photographs on Kickstarter and I would love to have your support.

You can see the book here:
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/131074671/in-training-a-book-of-bonsai-photographs

You can also follow along on the Facebook page for it here: http://on.fb.me/1NasxgJ

Thanks for taking a look, I've posted a couple of images below.
Stephen
---
washington, dc
stephenvoss.com

zachkent29

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Great idea. Two questions:

If backed completely, how much do you expect the book to sell for retail?

Are these photos only of trees at the National Bonsai & Penjing Museum?

Stickroot

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I love books, I probly have $2500 worth of bonsai books!
One book I bought at Mo Botanical gardens was $140.
So I can't wait to have one of yours!

Stephen Voss

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Thanks everyone for the kind words!

Zach - I'm still waiting on a final price from the printer, but I anticipate the book will sell for a bit more than the $75 price on the Kickstarter page. This book focuses on the National Bonsai & Penjing Museum here in DC. If the book is successful, I'm planning to work on a second book that focuses on bonsai in the American West (Mirai, the Pacific Bonsai Museum, Elandan and more).

Alain

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Awesome pictures! :cool:

I recognize the Japanese White pines in training since 1625, that's the one who (because at this age it's who, not which) survived Hiroshima right?

Alain

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Stephen,