New Brush Cherry Owner Seeking Advice

Pollak1322

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello! I am new to the bonsai world and this forum so if this is in the wrong place please forgive me.

I purchased my very first bonsai this past spring. I was told it was a 15 year old “Brush Cherry” and it has been doing well up until now! I am an arborist by trade and was very excited to learn the art of bonsai. I am located in Connecticut so I have had it indoors now for the past month or so and it made the adjustment from outdoors to inside well...

Over the thanksgiving holiday one of my extended family memebers moved the tree from its location on a table surrounded by windows to on the mantle over the lit fireplace unbeknownst to me! I am guessing the drastic temperature change is the cause of the rapid decline...The leaves have been heavily dropping, new leaflets shriveled up, and remaining leaves have lost some of their deep green shine. Since then I have been watering it on its normal schedule of once every three days or when the soil feels dry.

I am seeking some advice on what to do and how to potentially remedy my unfortunate situation, I have attached some pictures of it’s current state. Thanks for any input! 5BA25F8E-ABAF-4980-B5AD-28686238D323.jpeg4A1FDBCF-19CC-4BB1-B1F1-4D58DFB881FE.jpeg3FB0C35C-02BA-4F86-A5A3-A21662436739.jpeg

amcoffeegirl

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I don’t know the answer but someone will be by shortly to assist.
Indoors maybe pick up some lights to help with indoor growing. Maybe a seed mat to keep roots warm.
Free draining bonsai soil is needed.
Try to keep it alive until spring then put back outside. If all else fails buy 2 more.

Pollak1322

Seedling
Reaction score