New Golden Gate Ficus

Reaction score
Hello all,

I recently acquired this golden gate ficus that I'm pretty excited about. My first bonsai was a serissa that I had for 3 years, so I have some (very limited) experience. I had a few questions about this tree and would love some input.

b1.jpg

There is a branch growing downward into the soil. I'm
wondering, if and when (and how) is the best way to deal with this. If I remove it, where should I cut? At the
trunk, or at the soil?
Any input from anyone would be appreciated, even if it general knowledge about the species.

Thanks again!

A

ColinFraser

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Hello, and welcome :)

What you describe as a downward growing branch is probably an aerial root; they are fairly common in ficus.

I believe 'Golden Gate' is a variety of the species Ficus microcarpa. I grow them outdoors in California, but if you update your profile to include your general location, you might be able to get specific tips from members in your region . . .

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It would be nice to see the whole tree too!.

I personally, have a hard time enjoying a tree with aerial roots unless they flow nicely, and are done well.

I don't like when they cross branches, bulge a lot at the top, and if they cross each other, it should be tidy.

You may be able to pin yours to the trunk, to help it grow more.

You need those low branches so don't cut them off!

Welcome to Crazy.

Sorce

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Here's an image of the entire tree, you can see the aerial root on the lower right side. When I gently push to the left or right, there is very little play, so pinning it to the trunk may not be a possibility for me. I'm located in Massachusetts, so this will be grown indoors, I've just received it, so I was planning on letting it settle in for a while before attempting to do anything to it. The tree is about 15 yrs old and about 21" tall from the top of the pot to the highest foliage.