New guy here needing some help

AssM0nk3y

Seed
Reaction score
Hello everyone who may be reading this. I'm new to bonsai and have really no idea what I'm doing. I have been doing research online and have watched about 100 videos regarding the care and techniques for caring for a bonsai tree. I'm still left with all kinds of questions so instead of overloading google I decided to join a forum to help in my search for knowledge of bonsai.

A little back story of how I acquired my first bonsai tree. I have a friend that is always giving and thinking of everyone but herself. In her daily life she goes out of her way to help others. One of the ways she does this is to purchase a gift for a friend that is down on their luck, sick, or not being what she calls 100%. There is something about receiving an unexpected gift that release endorphins that make us feel better she always uses as an excuse to give a gift to someone. Anyway last August (8-1-14) I was not doing well after I called off my wedding. Short story ex ran back to her baby daddy. During one of her visits the subject of bonsai trees came up. I mentioned how I thought they were really cool and would like to buy one some day. Well two days later she showed up with a bonsai tree. The only thing she told me was she bought it from an old Asian man that was selling them in a parking lot on her way to work. Oh and that she thinks he said it was 10 or 15 years old.

I have had this tree for a year now and have done nothing but water it and added the fertilizer that came with it. I have never tried to grow anything so im a little scared I might kill it if I try something im not sure about. Anyway if I haven't bored you to death yet here are some questions I have
  1. What kind of bonsai is this? I have looked up different kind but I haven't seen any like this.
  2. Should I be trimming at this stage? It looks like its growing wild to me.