New guy with a ficus

neeelt

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Hi. I'm just getting started learning so please bear with me.

I bought a Tiger Bark Ficus tree last August. After almost killing it a couple times, I feel like I've figured out how to keep it healthy and happy and It's growing nicely in the sunniest spot in my home. Now I'm thinking about how I might prune it this spring and I'd love some of your thoughts.

First off, how did it grow like this? It's got a nice thick trunk that is only a couple inches tall but stops abruptly, almost square on top with a handful of branches growing only off the top. All the branches are very vertical which seems like it will limit this tree to broom style. Many of the first branches are very thick and a couple inches long and then were cut, leading to one or more skinny branches that are even longer and only have leaves at the top, making it look lanky. If the trunk is going to stay short I'd like the canopy to be more low and tight.

So what should I do and when should I do it? I'm thinking at some point I'll want to prune it hard (maybe even back to the thick first branches?) to get the leaves and smaller branches closer to the trunk. Or should I prune the tips of the long branches and see if I can produce back budding? It's in a deep pot with ordinary soil but at some point I'll want to trim the roots and put it in a shallower pot with a proper bonsai soil. Should I do that before addressing the branches?

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience with me.

Attachments

• PXL_20201231_232450730.jpg
    PXL_20201231_232450730.jpg
    215.4 KB · Views: 20
  • PXL_20201231_232458031.jpg
    PXL_20201231_232458031.jpg
    222.2 KB · Views: 21
  • PXL_20201231_232504667.jpg
    PXL_20201231_232504667.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 19
  • PXL_20210123_000913144.jpg
    PXL_20210123_000913144.jpg
    151 KB · Views: 21

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b