New Here- how am I doing? Quercus lobata

Dogwood61

Seed
Reaction score
Hi. I’ve been growing rare cacti for 40 years, and have become really good at it. I wish I’d started bonsai as passionately, as long ago. I grew a plum for 20 years that made me happy. I had coaxed a respectable cascade into it, but I accidentally killed it.
Then about 8 years ago I bought a little nursery stock seedling of Valley Oak and set to it.
I don’t know the art, I’m only an imitator. I can prune. I can wire. I can keep it moist. But to me it’s still only a pruned, wired, watered small tree.
Some day I hope I shall know how bonsai actually happens.

. DA94C2FB-7577-41F0-8A74-D7CCCECAEECD.jpegE56D66B6-95EB-48FC-9D24-884591D8F8B4.jpeg1083DF77-4003-4600-8EBA-519C0020881C.jpeg
You may tell me there are too many competing branches, and that it’s trying to fill in a 360* circle. I’ll agree. My feeling is that I can always chop big stuff off, but can only make a commitment when I know it’s the right move. So I’ve wired up everything like a math problem. Twisting and bending. Like nature
4CB80918-9521-413F-924B-28DC50F6CF0A.jpeg
Perhaps I should be prepared for the day in another 8 years when the trunk is much fatter, and just sacrifice the whole thing above the bottom couple of branches. These are relative newcomers nursed to make up for some early low cuts that I probably shouldn’t have made.3B868475-5E02-44AF-9335-1935EFF1C3C2.jpeg

I guess I could join the San Jose Bonsai club and get an expert to help me out. That would be fun. But I thought I’d post here and see if this youngster is worth doing anything with beyond passive tinkering, short of just... waiting.

Attachments

• F9586D92-16FF-40EB-96DA-42F3255816D7.jpeg
    F9586D92-16FF-40EB-96DA-42F3255816D7.jpeg
    291.1 KB · Views: 4

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?