New here & to growing anything really.

Jack-K-92

Seed
Reaction score
Bolton, Greaater Manchester, United Kingdom
USDA Zone
8b
Hey guys... i am new to growing any plants/ tree's i have done basic research into how to keep them alive in pots ect and as i was strolling through my local supermarket i stumbled upon a Japanese maple tree...and hearing that these where a good option to start a bonsai tree with i picked it up for a bargain price of £4.... the only problem was this was an impulse buy and really i have no idea what i should do with this tree.
the tree seems only young maybe 1-2 years old maybe more im not sure... i was just wondering what you guys think i should do from here. should i let it to continue to grow to let the trunk get thicker ect or should i start with defoliation and pruning ect...i have tried to research as much about this tree as i could and found out there is more than one type of Japanese maple and i was wondering how i could tell what type it is and what style of bonsai would suit the tree the most.....i have also noticed some leaves are looking unhealthy and was wondering if anybody might know if the tree is actually healthy or if action would be needed.

sorry about the influx of questions but i would highly appreciate if somebody could help a complete noobie to this sort of thing and thank you :) 39467691_1757573844362083_5228928902545539072_n (1).jpg39468202_234644780585796_8979009735109902336_n.jpg39521938_243571753151858_5623329659073593344_n.jpg39526435_666332053765127_8214130090380886016_n.jpg

Saddler

Chumono
Reaction score